Complete newb

Peter Wilhelmsson

Peter Wilhelmsson

On Sunday, there will be folks manning ESSA, but I see ESOS_CTR being manned too. Does that mean that I can use that for clearance, takeoff and arrival for other airports in Sweden? 

Gustav Kauman (1262761)
1 hour ago, Peter Wilhelmsson said:

On Sunday, there will be folks manning ESSA, but I see ESOS_CTR being manned too. Does that mean that I can use that for clearance, takeoff and arrival for other airports in Sweden? 

Hello Peter.

You are correct. If you are ever in doubt when online, ask the controller and they will be more than happy to assist you.

Happy flying!

/Gustav - Pilot Coordinator

Peter Wilhelmsson

When initially contacting the controller for clearance, I guess I need to specify where the heck I am, right? =) 

Sweden Control, this is Braathens 3663 at ESMQ stand 1, with November, request clearance for IFR to ESSB as filed. 

Mattias Green (1281702)
2 minutes ago, Peter Wilhelmsson said:

When initially contacting the controller for clearance, I guess I need to specify where the heck I am, right? =) 

Sweden Control, this is Braathens 3663 at ESMQ stand 1, with November, request clearance for IFR to ESSB as filed. 

Correct. Remember that in many cases ATIS is not available (for example on ESMQ) so you will recieve the "ATIS information" from the controller on the frequency.

Also, to make everyone's experience more pleasant, have the charts available and use them. Charts are available for free in Sweden on this website: https://www.aro.lfv.se/Editorial/View/IAIP?folderId=19

I'm the controller who will be on ESOS on Sunday so if you have any concerns feel free to ask here or via private message on Sunday :) 

• Like 1

Johan Grauers (1113891)
13 hours ago, Peter Wilhelmsson said:

I'm going to be very picky (don't worry, I do this to everyone) because well, I'm me.

Get rid of "for IFR" and "as filed".